image

We all know oatmeal is one of the most healthy options for breakfast because it contains protein and it’s pretty low in carbs compared to cereal which is made out of wheat. However oatmeal can be pretty bland if you don’t add that little something to it. Today I’ll show you my favorite way to eat oatmeal, and I guarantee that after you try it, you’ll become addicted and won’t want to have anything else for breakfast.

Ingredients:

× 1/3 cup oats (you can use quick, rolled or steel-cut oats because they don’t lose their nutritional value during processing; I prefer rolled oats or quick oats if I’m in a rush in the morning)
× 1 cup water
× 1 tbsp unsweetened cacao powder (chocolate for breakfast. yes, it’s healthy)
× 1 tsp chia seeds (more protein)
× 1 tsp ground cinnamon (antioxidants)
× 1 tsp coconut oil (it makes the oatmeal really creamy without adding milk; also GOOD fats)
× 1 tsp raw organic honey
× a few drops of vanilla extract

Toppings:
× 1 tbsp almond butter
× half of a small banana, sliced (I used grapes in this photo because I ran out of bananas, but I usually use banana)
× some type of nuts (optional; I used hazelnuts)
× the pumpkin seeds are just for decoration, but they contain healthy fats and protein

MACROS approx.
350 kcal
Carbs: 50 g
Fat: 15 g
Protein: 7 g

This breakfast is really filling so I never feel the need to snack during the morning. If this amount of calories seems too much for you, reduce the oatmeal to ¼ of a cup and skip the almond butter or honey. Also, banana is really high in carbs but it’s my favorite fruit, so if you want a lighter version you can use blueberries or strawberries instead. Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

