image

I LOVE carbs. I mean…who doesn’t? But I’m trying to have them in moderation, and we’re speaking, of course, about good carbs like oats, brown rice, whole wheat bread etc. But sometimes a bowl of oatmeal in the morning is too much for me. Even though it keeps me full, it makes me feel bloated and a little too full. That’s why I prefer granola. Well, I must admit the main reason is that it tastes better and it’s sweet. BUT, today I decided to try something different. Something that is light, but keeps me satisfied, something that won’t make be bloated, something that will give me energy. And all of these without compromising on taste.

image

 

I’ve got the inspiration for this paleo granola from a youtube video I’ve watched a long time ago. If you’re interested in the paleo diet you can read more about it here. Anyway, the recipe for this ‘granola’ is very simple, and you can find the ingredients at your local grocery store.

Simply mix some sort of nuts like walnuts, almonds, pecans, hazelnuts and/or pistachios, some type of seeds like chia seeds, flax seeds, sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds etc and some type of dried fruit like raisins, cranberries, papaya, anything that you like. We are not going to add sugar or honey, so the dried fruit will be our sweetener. We’ll also skip the butter/ oil and the baking process, so we’ll need something to give us that crunchy texture. Besides the crunchiness from the nuts, my favorite way to create it is by adding coconut, banana and/or apple chips. You can also add spices like cinnamon or pumpkin spice for some extra flavor. That’s what I did and I have to tell you it tastes like a cozy bowl of fall.

#breakfast

Leave a Reply

